Benelux Cooperation

Archive Report

Example of the three Benelux States

Benelux as a Laboratory for Common market

The economic union of Belgium, Luxembourg and the Netherlands has been called a laboratory for the European Common Market, which embraces France, Italy and West Germany as well as the Benelux countries. At a conference of the heads of government of the Benelux states at The Hague, April 28–29, 1969, it was decided that all frontier controls between the three nations should be abolished by Nov. 1, 1970. Furthermore, the ministers agreed that the social and economic policies of their respective countries should be coordinated, that the tariff-free status of trade between them should be continued, and that there should no longer be any controls over the exchange of agricultural commodities.

To other nations ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles