Governments in Exile

Archive Report


The right to reproduce material contained in Editorial Research Reports is strictly reserved to the newspaper clients of the service. Verbatim use of such material by others will be permitted only upon written authorization of the editor.

Refugee Governments of Occupied Nations

Eight of the 26 nations whose representatives signed the Declaration by United Nations at Washington, January 1, 1942, are European countries which have been occupied by the Axis. Seven of the eight—Belgium, Czechoslovakia, Greece, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, and Yugoslavia—now maintain governments in exile at London. The eighth—the Grand Duchy of Luxemburg—has established a government at Montreal, Canada. A new recruit was added to the group of refugee governments last month, when President Quezon of the Commonwealth of the Philippines arrived with his war ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles